Chocolate: Eat it like you mean it

I don’t know about you but when I eat chocolate, I eat chocolate. I mean, like, full on just eat it with pretty much no dignity whatsoever. There’s no time for seductively placing it within gobble range of my mouth or taking cute, little nibbles here and there. Not only is there no time for it, it’s just simply unrealistic! In my opinion, if you’re going to advertise models eating chocolate, they better eat the chocolate.

In an era where even reality t.v. shows are fake, it should come as no surprise when advertisements for normal, daily events become scripted and disassociated with the average person. It’s apparent that some companies, like GODIVA, want to reach a certain niche. Their website shares the story of their start-up 90 years ago, “The family was deeply inspired by the legend of Lady Godiva and named the company in her honor. Values associated with Lady Godiva such as boldness, generosity, and a pioneering spirit still inform GODIVA’s ethos today” (www.godiva.com). Well, a quick Google search will let you know exactly who this inspirational woman was: an Anglo-Saxon noblewoman who rode around butt-naked on a horse in rebellion to her husband’s oppressive taxation impositions. Some idol. Did I mention the family business is made up of all men? We know sex sells but does it have to sell everything? Learn more about Godiva’s history here.

popup
A present day advertisement for GODIVA portrays an unknown woman eating a tiny piece of chocolate in her bed during the middle of the day.

The above advertisement uses several persuasive marketing techniques that play on the audiences’ emotions. The storytelling technique is one of the oldest and most effective tricks in the book. The image is of a young, attractive female clothed in a black, revealing dress. Her attire seems to be one of sophistication but not entirely of humble high-class. The model’s lips are parted, revealing her barely agape mouth in a sensual manner. Her eyes are hooded with smoky eye shadow and her hair is down, slightly unkempt, both of which have sex appeal. She is laying in a bed with white linens and bright sunlight pouring through the window. The contrast in colors suggest purity in the white environment and mischievousness in the black dress and chocolate.

One could imagine she had a one night stand the night before and woke up in the morning to an empty bed in her lover’s home. She put on her dress from last night’s party and touched up the makeup she slept in. As she was grabbing her heels to creep out of the house with the sinful pleasure she was allowing herself, she noticed a small, gold box on the nightstand. A secret stash of condoms? No, even better. A box of chocolate. She lay back down to indulge in one more dirty secret. The Golden Moment.

Wait…what? What the heck is a Golden Moment? Also, what about that has any relation to chocolate? Lauri Kien Kotcher, chief marketing officer and senior vice president for global brand development at Godiva Chocolatier in New York says, “The idea is to appeal to consumers in different places and times who want a little piece of chocolate. You can have your own golden moment at home, by yourself” (www.nytimes.com).

Ha..haha. Point made.

But then there’s me…

IMG_20160408_085208
A realistic still image advertisement to counter the stereotype of sexy chocolate…because there’s nothing attractive about this photo. It’s just me eating some good ol’ chocolate.

and several other normal human beings who just like to eat chocolate because it tastes good. My advertisement to counter the stereotype of portraying chocolate in a seductive light is to show chocolate in its realistic form-eaten. Here I am on my bed, wrapped in a comforting blankey because I probably have cramps and had a bad day. I have a brown Instagram filter because chocolate is mostly brown (duh). My hair is messy because chocolate doesn’t care what I look like when I’m eating it. All that matters is that I am not portraying myself as someone who doesn’t exist with a product that’s so highly consumed. This advertisement would be so much more relatable because people could identify with it. They would look at this and think, “Hey, that’s what I look like when I eat chocolate. Maybe I should go buy some.” Okay, maybe marketing isn’t my strong suit but you get my point. I’m not selling myself and falling victim to the trend of sexy chocolate that never makes it to my mouth. If I’m going to market it, then I’m going to eat it. If I’m going to eat it then I’m going to eat it like I mean it.

 

 

Works Cited:

“Celebrating 90 Years of Chocolate | GODIVA.” Celebrating 90 Years of Chocolate | GODIVA. Web. 08 Apr. 2016.

Elliott, Stuart. “Godiva Rides in a New Direction.” The New York Times. The New York Times, 2009. Web. 08 Apr. 2016.

 

Leave a Reply

